Dover.uk.com
If this post contains material that is offensive, inappropriate, illegal, or is a personal attack towards yourself, please report it using the form at the end of this page.

All reported posts will be reviewed by a moderator.
  • The post you are reporting:

Hello Bob,

I am a journalist at the Guardian newspaper.

We're planning to publish an article that collates examples of Conservative councillors who have been suspended for posting racist or islamophobic content on social media, only to be readmitted to the party a few months later. This is in the context of criticism of the Conservative party's disciplinary processes.

We are planning on mentioning your three suspensions from the Conservative party and the comments that led to them, including your use of the term “jungle bunnies” in relation to the London riots, references to swearing at a Big Issue seller, describing Saudi men as “oil soaked sand peasants” and your joke about buying workers at the International Slavery Museum. I understand you have now left the Conservative party.

Do you have any comments on the above? Would you like to comment on your suspension and readmission, and what is your view of the Conservative party's handling of your case?

We would require your response by tomorrow at 1pm if you wished to comment. Could you please confirm receipt of this email?

Best wishes,

Frances

--
    Frances Perraudin
    Reporter

Guardian News & Media

-----

+44 7825061500

+44 203353 3207

frances.perraudin@theguardian.com

-----

twitter: @fperraudin

Hi,

1. Though it will probably be on my gravestone I never used the phrase 'jungle bunnies'. Fact.

2. I never actually said anything to a Big Issue Seller. It as a joke. It's exactly he same as if I said 'I walked into Specsavers the other day and guess who I bumped into .......... Everyone!' No. I did not actually go into Specsavers the other day. Cue headlines 'disgraced Councillor makes fun of people with vision problems'