Dover.uk.com
If this post contains material that is offensive, inappropriate, illegal, or is a personal attack towards yourself, please report it using the form at the end of this page.

All reported posts will be reviewed by a moderator.
  • The post you are reporting:

Hi there Dovorians

I tried to insert an image of myself aged about 19 when I was serving as an RAF wireless operator in Hong Kong in 1956 but don't know if it worked! So you see = I'm getting on in years now. I left Dover Grammar to go off and see the world - and after leaving the RAF and eventually getting qualified as a Structural Engineer I took my family off to see more of the world. By the way, after growing up in Dover, travelling to Hong Kong by an old propeller powered aircraft was such an adventure. Apart from the very rich and we service people, nobody travelled much then compared with today. It took 9 days to fly out the Hong Kong landing at places like the Libyan Desert, Habbaniyah in Iraq, Karachi, Negombo in Seylon (now called Sri Lanka) Changi in Malasia, a fuel stop in Saigon in Vietnam then an emergency overnight stop at a USAF base in the Philippines due to low cloud over HK and finally we did land at Kai Tak, HK. Even that was a bit dicey because the runway then was very short. It was eventually rebuilt while I was there as a long strip of reclaimed land out into the sea. I have about 250 photos of the old HK. I loved exploring and life there was fascinating for a young lad.