Dover.uk.com
If this post contains material that is offensive, inappropriate, illegal, or is a personal attack towards yourself, please report it using the form at the end of this page.

All reported posts will be reviewed by a moderator.
  • The post you are reporting:

Barry
    My wife is a Deputy Care Home Manager so I have some secondhand knowledge of the care system.

Firstly most UK Care Homes are run by foreign nationals.Their main aim is to make a profit. A care home I know stopped taking 'council paid' residents as they could charge 'private fee paying residents' more money for identical services.Hence the less fortunate where left in hospitals taking up valuable bed space until they could be found accommodation or in some cases returned home to die with hardly any care at all.

Another care home previously run as a charity and with an excellent reputation in cleanliness and care had to sell up and was purchased by overseas investors. The first thing that was implemented was a fresh contract for all staff resulting in a pay cut of nearly £150-200 pcm for qualified staff.They obviously had to resign,some with 15 years service or more at that care home, and find alternative employment.
    New young unqualified care assistants were employed saving the company thousands of pounds a year in salaries but the standard of professional care dropped dramatically.The shift patterns were also altered and lengthened and care staff were also required to undertake cleaning duties normally carried out by domestic staff.Hence domestic were laid off thus resulting in more savings. The food bill was slashed by £200 per week so the standard of meals served was also affected.

Outings were cancelled and the caretaker with over 25 years dedicated service was put out to pasture.These savings and I use the term loosely were instigated in order to make the home more profitable but the standard of care dropped dramatically.